Cabin fever is translating into cabin demand, here’s how the travel industry could look this summer

Small and large tourist businesses are looking for ways to bring summer fun. CNBC’s Contessa Brewer reports from Rocking Horse Ranch in upstate New York. Travel BEST TRAVEL DEAL: Find Great Deals At Radisson’s Official Site. Book Now And Save! … Read more…

Investors should remain wary of rebound in airline stocks from coronavirus pandemic, says Barclays’ Brandon Oglenski

CNBC’s Kelly Evans discusses airlines and the future of the travel industry amid the coronavirus pandemic with Brandon Oglenski, airline analyst at Barclays, and Joe DeNardi, airline analyst of Stifel. Travel BEST TRAVEL DEAL: Find Great Deals At Radisson’s Official … Read more…

Hotel in Spain requires two negative Covid-19 tests to check in — with a free antibody test during your stay

Where is it safe to travel during a pandemic? This hotel is answering that question by requiring guests to prove they don’t have the coronavirus before they arrive. Travel BEST TRAVEL DEAL: Find Great Deals At Radisson’s Official Site. Book … Read more…

Department of Transportation, FAA are giving pilots ‘a platform of jello to stand firmly on’ — American Airlines pilot on in-flight social distancing

As airlines slash their schedules, some flights are getting more crowded. Dennis Tajer, pilot and Allied Pilots Association Communications Committee spokesman, joins “Squawk Box” to discuss. Travel BEST TRAVEL DEAL: Find Great Deals At Radisson’s Official Site. Book Now And … Read more…

Marriott CFO expects regional business to pick up first as states relax coronavirus restrictions

Regional destinations that guests can get to by car will be the first to rebound, Marriott CFO Leeny Oberg told CNBC on Monday after the hotel operator reported dismal earnings. Travel BEST TRAVEL DEAL: Find Great Deals At Radisson’s Official … Read more…

Barcelona without the tourists: ‘We’ve reclaimed our city but inherited a ghost town’

Last year Barcelona received 30 million visitors – now there are none. Emerging from Europe’s strictest coronavirus lockdown, how do its tourist-weary residents feel about getting their city back? For six weeks, the streets of Barcelona were deserted. Not a … Read more…

Anton Chekhov’s travels … the ‘greatest work of journalism of the 19th century’

The playwright’s arduous journey to a Pacific island in Russia’s far east resulted in a non-fiction masterpiece Passport details Anton Pavlovich Chekhov, playwright, one of the greatest short-story writers in history and once-in-a-lifetime adventurer to Russia’s remote far east. Place … Read more…

United Airlines service workers’ union sues over schedule cuts after carrier got federal aid

United fleet and passenger service workers are suing the airline over a planned cut to their hours, saying it violates their contract and the law providing billions in coronavirus aid from the government. Travel BEST TRAVEL DEAL: Find Great Deals … Read more…

Sicily to subsidise post-Covid holidays as Italy ponders reopening to tourists

• Offer may include three-nights-for-price-of-two deal on accommodation in Sicily, and even cheap flights• Country’s tourism minister dispels talk of Italy being off-limits all year Sicily’s regional government is offering to subsidise holidays on the island for both domestic and … Read more…

Richard Francis Burton … dashing explorer of the exotic and erotic

This fearless Victorian flirted with several ways of dying while looking for the source of the Nile, entering Mecca illegally and exploring other cultures’ attitudes toward sex Passport detailsSir Richard Francis Burton, geographer, translator, writer, soldier, orientalist, cartographer, ethnologist, spy, … Read more…

TSA officers buy pizza, stock pantries for airport co-workers affected by coronavirus pandemic

As airport workers face layoffs and furloughs due to the coronavirus, their co-workers from the Transportation Security Administration, who continue to receive paychecks, are stepping up to help. Travel BEST TRAVEL DEAL: Find Great Deals At Radisson’s Official Site. Book … Read more…

Outlook for Disney World and Disneyland reopenings: What will it be like? And when will parks be running?

Fans of Disney World in Florida and Disneyland in California are already dreaming of the parks’ eventual reopening down the distant road. CNN.com – RSS Channel – App Travel Section BEST DEAL UPDATE: Disney’s 14-Day Ultimate Ticket for the price … Read more…